George Tanabe

George Tanabe earned a Ph.D. in Japanese religions (esp. Buddhism) from Columbia University and taught in the Department of Religion at the University of Hawai‘i. His academic books have been published by university presses at Harvard, Princeton, Columbia and Hawai‘i. For promoting cultural understanding between Japan and the United States, he was awarded the Japanese Foreign Minister’s Award in 2007 and the Imperial Order of the Rising Sun in 2012. 

Books by George Tanabe


Miki’s Mad, 2024, Deuxmers


Japanese Buddhist Temples in Hawaii: An Illustrated Guide (2012) with Willa Jane Tanabe

Sources of Japanese Tradition, Volume One: From Earliest Times to 1600, Second Edition (2001) with Wm. Theodore de Bary, Donald Keene, and Paul Varley

Religions of Japan in Practice (1999)

Practically Religious: Worldly Benefits and the Common Religion of Japan with Ian Reader (1998)

Myoe the Dreamkeeper (1992)

The Lotus Sutra in Japanese Culture (1989) with Willa Jane Tanabe